Duty Roster

By Road Sub-Committee - October 30 2012

DDuty Roster Responsibilities


The main duties are to put the signs out and to collect them, check the road for safety and run the race with guidance from committee members. You will also need to print out a copy of the header and the sign on sheets, and have them at the sign on table at least 30 minutes before the race start.

Signs must be placed/turned down every 5km. The u-turn signs are to be placed 200m before the turn. One portable "Caution Cyclists" sign is to be placed at the end of St John's Rd.  Each turnaround point is a neutral zone. There are green signs which must be placed approximately 200m before and after the neutral zone - if there is no nearby reflector post these signs should be fixed to a bollard (which is kept in the carport with the signs).  All other portable signs are fixed to the reflector posts.

Click here for the Sign On / Handicap sheet

Click here for the Event Sanction info sheet (must be displayed at sign on)

Click here for the Duty officer responsibilities guide info sheet

Click here for the Event Results sheet



Safety Sign off. Once the signs have been placed on the race course, sign duty officers must sign off on the race sign on sheet that the signs are done and the course is safe for racing on. 

Please take note of anything on the route that could make it unsafe for riders (potholes, gravel, debris, changed traffic conditions). If it is unsafe the race may need to be shortened or cancelled.

A special case of unsafe conditions is poor visibility. This includes heavy rain or fog. We do not have permission from police to race if there is poor visibility. It is important to abide by this, and the race should be cancelled. Cancelling one event is better than someone getting hit by a car or losing our licence to race completely, either of which could happen if we race when visibility is poor.

The sign on sheets, results and duty officer checklist should be given to a club official; Jill Harris, Rob Stephen or David Lowe. If these committee members are not present, they should be given to the commissaire.

Collecting the signs after the race also serves as a sweep of the race route to make sure all riders have finished the race.

When a trophy race or championship race is on there will be club officials to run the race. If you are on sign duty you will only be expected to place the signs out and collect them afterwards. However if you want to help then you are more than welcome to run the race.

If you are unable to do your rostered day then the responsibility is on you to find a replacement.

If your turn comes up to do the sign duty and you are unsure of what to do please ask a committee member for help. By giving up one or two weekends of racing a year you are helping to spread the work load to run a bike race and are not burdening the same people week after week. 




6th Marian Renshaw & Rosemary Hastings

13th  Graham Stait & Rob Stephen

20th  Mark Windsor & Kerryn Windsor

27th  Caroline Robertson & Sandy McQuarrie


3rd  Cathy Adams & Kirsten Howard 

10th  Mick Foran & Andrew McGrath

17th  Phil Cole & Toireasa Gallagher

24th  Josh Corcoran & Brad Rayner


3rd  Scott James & Rod Esdaile

10th  Jetta & David McKeller

17th  B2B  

24th  Nathan Pearce & Jim Allen

31st  Toireasa Gallagher & Peter McKinnon


7th  Neville Krahe & Braedon Smith 

14th  Peter Wilson & Tony Shaw

21st  Chris Davis & Rosemary Hastings & Marian Renshaw

25th  Damien & Eliza Bennett

28th  David Hyland & RodEsdaile, Marian Renshaw and Rosemary Hastings


5th  Mick & Kalinda Robinson

12th  Marian Renshaw & Rosemary Hastings 

19th  David Reece, Glen Partridge & Rosemary Hastings

26th  Graham Stait & Will Hodges & Glen Partridge 


2nd  Rocket and Cadel Lovett &Glen Partridge 

9th  Mark Windsor & Jack Cannon &Glen Partridge 

16th  Gary Baker & Dan Googe & Glen Partridge 

23rd  Luke & Drew Tuckwell and Neville Krahe 

30th  Robyn & Glen Partridge & Wayne Powell


7th  Glen Partridge, Norman Wise and Rosemary Hastings 

14th  Tim Scott. &  Jill Harris (did not attend.) Glen Partridge 

21st  Steve Bennett & Mitch Bland

28th  Brian Draper, Ben Taylor, Geoff Ryan and Nick Barrett


4th  No race. State Club TTT Championships 

11th  Race cancelled 

18th  Jette & Dave McKellar

25th  Toireasa Gallagher & Brad Rayner 


1st  David Hyland, Jill Harris, Glen Partridge and Geoff Ryan

8th  Western Division Road Race Orange

15th  Marian Renshaw, Rosemary Hastings, Glen Partridge 

22nd  Andrew Carter & Will Lesh

29th  Western Division ITT Orange 


6th  Phil Cole, Scott James & Darren Fenton

13th  No race. Mt Panorama Canteen

20th Tony Shaw & tba

27th  Craig Hutton & Mick Foran