BCC – Tuesday Night Criterium Series Results – 20 February 2018 Sulman Park, Mt Panorama

By Road Sub-Committee - February 22 2018

There were 26 starters for the first Tuesday night series, the biggest turnout so far this year.

Race 1 was a combined C & D graded scratch race. There was a big turnout in C grade with 9 riders and 3 riders in D grade.

In C grade Morgan Watts moved up from D grade following her decisive win in D grade last week. Wayne Powell and Daniel Googe also returned for their second criterium.

C grade was won by Rob Stephen just on the line from Bruce Hutton. Neville Krahe was 3rd and Wayne Powell 4th. On the line Daniel Googe in 5th just pipped Peter Wilson in 6th.

In D grade John Kitchen won after leading from the start. Rosemary Hastings was 2nd and David Hyland 3rd.

Race 2 was a combined A & B graded scratch race. There was a big field of 7 riders in A grade and a field of 6 riders in B grade (down from 10 riders last week). New riders to the Tuesday night series were Karim Oreb (Gold Coast CC) in A grade, a friend of Luke Gillmer and Simon Hickey (Orange CC) in B grade.

A grade was won by Tom Bolton on the line just in front of Craig Hutton. Harry Bryant was 3rd only 1 sec behind Craig. Brad Rayner was 4th and Karim Oreb 5th.

B grade was won decisively by Julian Woods who took the lead on lap 8 and lead to the finish ahead of Simon Hickey in 2nd. On lap 12 Julian had a lead of 6 sec over Simon. By the bell on lap 13 Julian had increased this lead to 11 secs over Simon. By the finish on lap 14 Julian won by 9 secs from Simon. Emily Watts was 3rd just 3 secs behind Simon. Hayden Booth was 4th and Luke Gillmer 5th.

See the link below for the full results of Tuesday’s race.

The next Tuesday evening criterium race will be on 27 February 2018. Sign on by 5:45pm. C/D race starts 6:00pm and A/B race starts 6:30pm.

Also note the BCC Criterium Championships will be held at Sulman Park next Sunday 25 February 2018 from 8:30am for D grade through to 10:30am for A grade. See the club calendar on the Bathurst Cycle Club website for more details.

Related Link: