BCC Beaconsfield Rd Graded Scratch Race 3 June 2017 – Results

By Road Sub-Committee - June 05 2017

A good field of 22 riders lined up for the first time to ride this new event over the 60km challenging course that has nearly 1000m of climbing. The shorter D grade race was 42km. The race started at “The Avenue” Café in O’Connell where the eager riders were made welcome. Some riders were seen with double shot coffees before the race. From a height of 700m above sea level at the start, the course climbs to 1110m at the 31km turnaround point. The D grade course turned at 22km at an elevation of 970m.

Click on the link below to view the road elevation profile.

The graded scratch race saw a combined C & D grade bunch of 9 riders lead out followed by the combined A & B grade bunch of 13 riders 5 minutes later. The first big test was the looming “Range View” hill 9km from the start that climbed to an elevation of 870m, with 110m of that climb in the last 3km. This hill saw the bunches spread out. Grahame Wheeler was the first victim of the climb and turned around, complaining of his lack of training. Glen Partridge dropped off to the back of the B grade bunch but then settled into his own rhythm. By the top of this first hill Glen was back up near the front of his bunch.

Over this hill the road then descends 120m for 2.5km to Wisemans Ck. The return climb up this hill broke a few riders on the way home where some riders were wishing they had a 32 tooth sprocket!  After Wisemans Ck it was a long 10km climb to Sewells Ck Rd.

At the 20km mark the C grade leaders of Peter Wilson & Kevin Bell were overtaken by the leading A grade riders of Ryan O’Donnell, Bruce Goddard and Steve Scott who had started 5 mins behind C grade. Next was Jayson Austin, Hayden Booth and Emily Watts some 12 sec later. Jim Lavis was next a further 20 sec behind them.

At the turn into Sewell Ck road at 22km, Dan Kirby and Rob Stephen had dropped out. Only 3 DNFs occurred in this tough race.

A grade was won by Ryan O’Donnell in a time of 1:49:02, 2nd was Jayson Austin and 3rd Bruce Goddard.
B grade was won by Steve Scott in a time of 1:49:58, 2nd was Emily Watts by just a bike length from Hayden Booth.
C grade was won by Kevin Bell in a time of 2:06:52, 2nd was Peter Wilson and 3rd Neville Krahe.
D grade was won by Anne McAlary in a time of 1:49:02 followed by David Hyland. A terrific win for Anne on returning to racing after an absence of a number of years.

Click on the link below to download last Saturday’s race results.

Related Link:
Related Link: