Senior Western Division Road Results - 30 June 2018

By Road Sub-Committee - July 02 2018

Dubbo take both Men’s and Women’s Titles at the 2018 Senior Western Division Championships

Bathurst Cycling Club hosted its first road race at the multimillion dollar Bathurst Bicycle Park on the weekend with the 2018 Western Division Road Championships starting and finishing at the venue. Although the road racing tracks at the Park have not been completed race officials Elaine Ryan and Glen Allen reported the racing on the temporary course went very well, with Western Region Cycling President Mark Windsor very impressed with the quality of the racing.

While it was the Orange club that defeated Bathurst in the final of the Mark Renshaw Junior Cup at the end of a full program of Junior Championship in the morning at Mt Panorama, it was the Dubbo club that dominated the Senior Program at the Bike Park, with exciting young riders Kurt Eather and Haylee Fuller taking the Champion Men and Women’s Titles.

With an excellent record in recent A Grade championships it was the Bathurst riders that went on the attack early in the 53km premier event, Jeremy Ryan, Mark Windsor and Craig Hutton all attempted to break clear, hoping to give the Bathurst Club the control early in the race. However, the Dubbo riders quickly neutralised the moves with a bunch of riders returning to the Bike Park for a show down at the finish on the steep hill they affectionately called the “Mother in-law” that rises some 20m over the last 250m.

It was here that National Junior Champion Kurt Eather showed his class kicking past his brother Dylan to claim at comfortable win from Dubbo team mate Tim Hines with Bathurst’s Brad Rayner third in front of Dylan Eather, Craig Hutton and Daniel Barber. Steve Dunstall and Jeremy Ryan where next follow by Richard Hobson and Ryan O’Donnell rounding out the top 10 in front of Jason Farr, Dennis Martin and top-class female rider Emily Watts who did not qualify for a title as she now rides for a Sydney Club to contest the NRS competition.

Another very promising rider, 13year old Ben Anderson of Orange defeated Dubbo’s world masters championship medallist Graeme Peadon in B Grade with Bathurst’s Will Lesh taking the Bronze. Next to finish was Haylee Fuller, Luke Tuckwell, Stuart Renshaw, Drew Tuckwell followed by Jodie Martin, David Reece and Tony Shaw rounding out the Top10 ahead of Daniel Googe, Alex Jones and Alex Russell.

Haylee Fuller’s 4th overall giving her the 2018 Champion female title ahead of Bathurst pair Jodie Martin and Kalinda Robinson.

Orange veteran Gary Halloran recorded an impressive victory in the Combined C&D Grade race defeating Blue Mountains Climber Kevin Bell and talented Dubbo junior Zac Fuller with Toireasa Gallagher and Graham Stait finishing just behind the trio. Next to finish was Orange’s Ivan Podres with Glen Carter, Michael Robinson, Mitch Bland and Zara Fuller.

RESULTS – 2018 Western Division Road Championships – Bathurst 30 June 2018

A Grade
1.Kurt Eather 2.Tim Hines 3.Brad Rayner 4.Dylan Eather 5.Craig Hutton
B Grade
1.Ben Anderson 2.Graeme Peadon 3.Will Leash 4.Haylee Fuller 5.Luke Tuckwell
C Grade
1.Kevin Bell 2.Zac Fuller 3.Toireasa Gallagher 4.Graham Stait 5.Ivan Podres
D Grade
1.Gary Halloran 2.Peter Wilson 3.Neville Krahe 4.Ray Dally 
Female Championship:
1.Haylee Fuller 2.JodieMartin 3.Kalinda Robinson 4.Toireasa Gallagher 5.Zara Fuller

The full results can be found at the link below:

Related Link: