2018 Bathurst Cycling Club – Criterium Championships Results – Sunday 25 February 2018

By Road Sub-Committee - February 26 2018

There were 23 starters for the annual criterium championships held at Sulman Park, Mt Panorama.

Race 1 was the D grade scratch race that had 4 entries. The race was fast and all riders stayed together until the last 500m when John Kitchen broke for a sprint to the finish to take the win from Rosemary Hasting in 2nd, Norman Wise in 3rd and Cathy Adams in 4th. Fastest lap was by John Kitchen in 2:16.

Race 2 was the C grade scratch race that had the largest entry of 11 riders. The race was fast and quickly broke into many groups of riders. At the finish Bruce Hutton broke free to take the win nearly 1 sec from Nick Barrett in 2nd, Mick Foran 3rd and Toireasa Gallagher in 4th. Fastest lap was by Bruce Hutton in 2:02. The 2nd fastest lap was by junior rider Daniel Googe in 2:03 who finished in 8th place.

Race 3 was the B grade scratch race that only had 3 entries. These riders only had to fight over the colour of their medals. During of the race they stuck together with Julian Woods leading most of the way. By the 3rd last lap Stuart Renshaw lead the race with the other 2 riders just behind and he held this position till the bell lap. At the finish line Stuart Renshaw just pipped Julian to take the win by 0.065 secs or 150mm on the line. Nathan Pearce was 3rd. Fastest lap was by Julian Woods in 1:52.

Race 4 was the A grade scratch race that had 5 entries. The pace was fast right to the end with each rider taking a lead at some point in the race. At the line 3 riders finished only 0.1 secs apart. Craig Hutton was 1st, Will Hodges 2nd, Josh Corcoran 3rd and Harry Bryant 4th only 0.7 secs behind Josh. Fastest lap was by Harry Bryant in 1:39.

Father and son duo Bruce Hutton and Craig Hutton took out 1st place in C & A Grades respectively. Great work!

See the link below for the full results.

Related Link: